Become a part of the community. Register and take part in all the features the site has to offer.
-
Product Manager. Canon SA
Please avoid these guys
We keep getting sites like this that pop up every few weeks with unbelievably stupid prices. As much as we try to close them down , they keep popping up.Suffice it to say that they are catching people and making money otherwise they would disappear. Please always remember that if the price sounds too good to be true - it almost always is.
http://camera-hyper.wozaonline.co.za/contact+us
As we get them , we'll post them here if you want the head's up - if not - please let me know , but I do think we need to be sharing this stuff so that photographers don't get ripped off.
-
Frequent Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
with a schlentered photo right on the home page... jeepers... no shame
__________________________________________________ _________________________
Blog - http://www.trevorives.com
Gear: something that goes 'click' when I press a button
-
New Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
I'm afraid that this is losing battle - it's too easy to set up a free website or post a fraudulent ads.
The fraudsters seem to love using Locanto Classifieds.
-
Frequent Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
Thanks for the heads up Roger, will post it on our FB site too
-
Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
What a disgrace. Even stole the header image from ORMS
-
New Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
-
Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
anyone at ORMS, I sent an email with a quick suggestion.
-
Frequent Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
Thanks for bringing this to attention, Roger - you sure have my support.
-
Frequent Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
Always buy at a reputable shop online, or go to a shop where you can physically hold the product and examine it thoroughly. The clear signs are usually that they ask for their money upfront or a huge deposit, then you never hear from them again.Our industry is a regulated one, prices going 5-10% either way not cheaper by 30%+!!!!!
-
New Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
Hey there Roger
I would just like to thank you for the advice. I am longing to purchase the new Canon 650D and i have been searching all over Durban to buy one.
Then i saw that advert on the locanto and the price was way too cheap. Was extremely dodgy.
I have called them several times requesting for more information and they simply kept saying "we are legit store with good reputation".
They are not convincing at all. I have even asked me friend to call them and we got different information about them.
One of their 'shops' were right by my place and i asked if i could visit them and they said that they are located in PE now. So ridiculous.
I have reported this online to the 'google phishing website'. Is there any other way to close them down? They will definitely scam beginner photographers.
Is this another example of these websites? http://camera4u.hpage.com/
I am so frustrated and angry.
Larry
-
Frequent Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
Anyone in PE that can check out there physical address?
516 Govan Mbeki Avenue
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
6045
South Africa
Larry
-----------------------------------
I wouldn't have to control my anger if people learned how to control their stupid.
-
Frequent Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
At the address, 516 Govan Mbeki, Port Elizabeth you will find:
- Alec Sharwood (Pty) Ltd
- M R H Confectionery Trust
- Malkinson Brothers C C
- Sharwoods Motorcycles (Pty) Ltd
- Tuliham C C
And it looks like this:
-
New Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
Looks legit!
-
New Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
 Originally Posted by Larry
Anyone in PE that can check out there physical address?
516 Govan Mbeki Avenue
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
6045
South Africa
That was the address i got from calling this one guy from those websites.
So ridiculous.
-
Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
http://camera-hyper.wozaonline.co.za/contact+us
They used the same company to set their website as I did with my website; I have seen the same background/theme while choosing mine. I will try and get hold of the Company to close the site.
I have also found almost all the ads on junk mail are dodging. All the ads with Capital letters and + between each word. As well as prices that are sometimes more than R 2000.00 less than what Canon disti's get them for.
-
Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
Okay so I went to Woza Online, and there is no "contact us" anywhere on any of their pages, also, there are no email address for which I can use to get hold of the right people. Hello peter
-
Frequent Member
Re: Please avoid these guys
 Originally Posted by brogan
Okay so I went to Woza Online, and there is no "contact us" anywhere on any of their pages, also, there are no email address for which I can use to get hold of the right people. Hello peter 
It is Google's platform for easy websites for SA. My suggestion is to phone Google SA and request them to remove it
Whois details
Domain: wozaonline.co.za
Accounting info....
Date |Type| Cost |Invoices are E-Mail to....|Paid Date |ICnt| TrkNo |Billing Info
Flashing RED indicates that payment has not been received - please
confirm with the UniForum SA accounting department, accounts@co.za, should this
not be according to your records. You have been sent 0 invoices/statements.
0a. lastupdate :
0b. emailsource :
0c. emailposted :
0d. emailsubject :
0g. historycount :
0h. invoiceno :
0i. contracttype :
0j. rcsversion :
1a. domain : wozaonline.co.za
1b. action :
1c. Registrar : MarkMonitor
2a. registrant : Google Inc.
2b. registrantpostaladdress: 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway Mountain View,=3D,-, , , --
2c. registrantstreetaddress:
2d. amount :
2e. paymenttype :
2f. billingaccount :
2g. billingemail :
2i. invoiceaddress :
2j. registrantphone : +1.6502530000
2k. registrantfax : +1.6502530001
2l. registrantemail : dns-admin@google.com
2n. vat :
3b. cname :
3c. cnamesub1 :
3d. cnamesub2 :
3e. creationdate : 2011/10/21 20:59:45
4a. admin :
4b. admintitle :
4c. admincompany :
4d. adminpostaladdr :
4e. adminphone :
4f. adminfax :
4g. adminemail :
4h. adminnic :
5a. tec :
5b. tectitle :
5c. teccompany :
5d. tecpostaladdr :
5e. tecphone :
5f. tecfax :
5g. tecemail :
5h. tecnic :
6a. primnsfqdn : ns2.google.com
6b. primnsip :
6c. primnsipv6 :
6e. secns1fqdn : ns4.google.com
6f. secns1ip :
6g. secns1ipv6 :
6i. secns2fqdn : ns3.google.com
6j. secns2ip :
6k. secns2ipv6 :
6m. secns3fqdn : ns1.google.com
6n. secns3ip :
6o. secns3ipv6 :
6q. secns4fqdn :
6r. secns4ip :
6s. secns4ipv6 :
8a. netblock1start :
8b. netblock1end :
8c. netblock2start :
8d. netblock2end :
8e. netblock3start :
8f. netblock3end :
9a. description1 :
9b. description2 :
9c. description3 :
9d. description4 :
9e. description5 :
9f. description6 :
-
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules
|
|